Arkansas Studies Banner
Map of Arkansas with Regions Denoted
Click Here for Ozark Plateau
Click Here for Arkansas River Valley
Click Here for Ouachita Mountain
Click Here for Gulf Coastal Plain
Click Here for Delta
Click Here for Crowley's Ridge

Arkansas: A Six Region Journey provides a unique multi-media exploration of each of these regions. Arkansas's rich and diverse areas presented: the Ozark Plateau region; the Arkansas River Valley; the Ouachita Mountains; the Gulf Coastal Plain; the Mississippi Alluvial Plain; and Crowley's Ridge. For more information about the project, visit the FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions).

The project showcases Arkansas's diverse agriculture and crops, regional economies; the distinctive geography and geology of each region, and a broad look at the areas that make Arkansas the rich and varied land and culture it has been throughout its history.

The Arkansas Department of Education partnered with AETN (Arkansas Educational Television Network) to meet the professional development needs of K-12 licensed educators by offering research-based and technology-delivered professional development courses.  These courses are designed to expand the teaching knowledge and skills of Arkansas educators.  This project includes an online professional development course and classroom resource materials for Arkansas educators.

Professional Development Course
Classroom Resources

AETN (Arkansas Educational Television Network)  Arkansas Department of Education

Arkansas Educational Television Network
Phone: 1-800-488-6689 • Email:

Copyright © 2014 AETN and the Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use